Mobile audits & inspections
Get AppGet App

ISO Guide

Those who meet the requirements of the international ISO standards and become certified will benefit in many areas.

What is the ISO standard?

The International Organization for Standardization (ISO) defines international standards in a wide range of industries. It formulates the guidelines as well as characteristics and creates comparable standards worldwide. Originally, ISO standard was introduced in 1946 to introduce international industry standards and to standardize technical rules internationally.

Nowadays, there are uniform ISO standards for a wide variety of industries and processes. The fields of electronics and electrics are an exception. Their standards are regulated by the International Electronic Commission.

The ISO standard helps implement and issue approved certificates for quality and safety. Now, various industries of 165 countries are following the ISO standard.

The following questions are answered in this article:

1. What is ISO certification?

2. What are the types of ISO standards?

3. Why are ISO standards used? 3 TOP advantages

4. How do digital technologies support ISO standard implementation?

5. Conclusion

What is ISO Certification?

The ISO standard serves as the basis for implementing internationally accepted standards and processes to ensure quality and safety. A corresponding ISO certification means a positive image for the company. At the same time, an ISO certification documents and proves the continuous striving for high quality and safety.

As a rule, external auditors carry out the relevant inspections regarding certification for ISO standards. They inspect the company and compare the actual state with the requirements of the desired ISO certification. The requirement of the ISO standards is oriented to the best possible way to do something.

What are the types of ISO standards?

According to current information, there are over 20,000 different ISO standards that standardize the various challenges and processes we face in our daily work environment. Mentioned below are the 6 most important areas that are regulated by ISO certification.

    1. The quality management system

    The ISO 9001:2015 is the most sought-after international standard for a company's quality management system. Although the ISO 9001:2015 standard is not mandatory, it has become a requirement for certain institutions. With the help of ISO 9001 certification, your company proves its quality awareness, reliability as well as overall competitiveness.

    2. Environmental Management

    The ISO 14001:2015 standard strives for a unified improvement in environmental performance. Certification supports your company to meet legal requirements and to pursue an environmentally conscious use of resources. This certification is also required in most relevant industries

    3. Information security management

    ISO 27001 - The international standard provides a framework for information security management systems (ISMS). The ISO 27001:2013 standard helps organizations systematically manage information. The goal of certification is to ensure confidentiality, integrity and availability for stakeholders.

    4. Food safety management

    The ISO 22000:2018 certification is evidence of an efficient and effective food safety management system. With the help of ISO 22000 standard, food safety, preventive programs, food service models, and manufacturing and production processes are regulated.

    5. Medical Devices

    ISO 13485:2016 - This ISO standard addresses companies involved in the manufacture, distribution, maintenance and disposal of medical devices. The certification proves that the safety and quality of medical devices is state-of-the-art, as well as compliant with regulatory changes

    6. Risk Management

    ISO 31000:2018 - This international standard provides the framework for designing, implementing and maintaining your organization's risk management. This ISO standard provides a guide for designing, implementing and maintaining a business. A wide variety of risks can be identified and eliminated in a standardized manner.

Why are ISO standards used? TOP 3 advantages

Implementing an appropriate ISO standard can help your company quickly identify problems and risks and develop solutions in a timely manner. Furthermore, your employees will also benefit from ISO certification. By closely examining your company's processes, you can identify sources of error. Daily tasks can now be completed smoothly. This saves your employees a lot of time and stress. In the following you will find the three most important advantages of an ISO certification:

1. quality and safety

By implementing ISO certification, you benefit from smooth processes, high quality standards and safe operations. At the same time, risks are significantly reduced. These benefits not only save you money and time, but also help you with customer orientation and create a long-term relationship of trust with customers.

2. Increase market opportunities

When you get certified as a company, you prove to your existing and potential customers that the standard requirements are met. The company's image improves. Potential customers will be convinced by your company through certification.

3. Increase in process opportunities

When you go through ISO certification, productivity is increased throughout your company. By systematically describing procedures and documenting routine processes, duplicate work and oversights are eliminated. With the help of ISO certification, success factors can be expanded and increased.

How do digital technologies support the implementation of the ISO-Standard?

Digital templates for the multiple ISO standards allow you to document your certification in a clear and transparent way. Nonconformities and their causes can be easily identified immediately. You can also effectively plan and implement corrective actions. The different ISO checklists from our template library are applicable for the different areas and support you optimally for your aspired ISO certification.


  • The ISO standard helps you to implement recognized standards for quality and safety. Meanwhile, various industries of 165 countries are following the ISO standard.

  • The ISO standard is an international standard that creates international comparability through certificates in a wide variety of industries.

  • The ISO international standards are always oriented to the best possible and most efficient way of doing something.

  • The ISO certifications make processes and procedures transparent and internationally comparable.

  • In most industries, ISO certification is not mandatory, but offers numerous benefits and promotes the corporate image.

Featured templates

ISO 14001 & OHSAS 18001

ISO 14001 & OHSAS 18001

Überprüfe mit dieser Vorlage das Umweltmanagementsystem deines Unternehmens nach ISO 14001 und OHSAS 18001. See template

ISO Container Inspection Checklist

ISO Container Inspection Checklist

Use this template for a thorough inspection of containers. See template

ISO 27001 Checklist

ISO 27001 Checklist

Use this checklist to check whether your company is ready for ISO 27001 certification. See template

ISO 9001:2015 Corrective Action Checklist

ISO 9001:2015 Corrective Action Checklist

This checklist is a detailed step-by-step guide aimed at initiating corrective action at an early stage. See template

ISO/IEC 17025:2017 Checklist

ISO/IEC 17025:2017 Checklist

This checklist can be used to provide a laboratory’s competence in testing and calibration. See template

ISO 13485 Audit Checklist

ISO 13485 Audit Checklist

Use this checklist to find out if the company’s QMS is aligned with the ISO 13485:2016 standard. See template

Your contact for all questions concerning ISO Guide

You have questions or would like to schedule a personal demo? We are happy to help you!