Lumiform Mobile audits & inspections
Get App Get App

PDCA Cycle: Plan, Do, Check, Act

The PDCA cycle, also known as the Deming cycle or the Plan-Do-Check-Act cycle, is a continuous improvement model used by businesses and organizations to improve processes, products, and services.

*Click on the image for full view*

PDCA Cycle  Infographic

Businesses and organizations use the PDCA cycle, also referred to as the Deming cycle or Plan-Do-Check-Act cycle, to continuously improve their processes, products, and services. The PDCA cycle consists of four iterative stages:

  1. Plan: This stage involves identifying the problem, setting goals, defining metrics for measuring success, and developing a plan to achieve the goals.
  2. Do: This stage involves implementing the plan, collecting data, and executing the processes and procedures.
  3. Check: This stage involves evaluating the data collected during the “Do” stage and comparing it to the metrics defined in the “Plan” stage.
  4. Act: This stage involves taking corrective action based on the results of the “Check” stage. If the results are positive, the process can be standardized and implemented throughout the organization. If the results are negative, the plan is revised, and the cycle begins again.

The PDCA cycle is a powerful tool for continuous improvement and problem-solving because it provides a structured approach to problem-solving that promotes learning, experimentation, and data-driven decision-making. By following the PDCA cycle, organizations can make incremental improvements over time and continuously adapt to changing market conditions and customer needs.

Share this content:
This site is registered on as a development site. Switch to a production site key to remove this banner.